This morning, I received a tweet by a young woman praying for her grandpa, and in her words I could feel her pain and her deep concern and worry. It seems, as of late, I have been asked by many to pray for various problems and concerns, especially for those who are fighting cancer, as is the case of my new young friend. Having six members of my own family who are in this particular battle, I understand the feeling of helplessness, as though I am watching on the sidelines, waiting with them in the battle of unknowing. It is for people such as my new young friend, I decided to try an experiment and add a page of intercessory prayer. I offer this spiritual work to God through the hands of Mary, Theotokos – “The One who bore God”. There are two images of Mary that summarize for me her role as a Spiritual Mother for all of us.

The first comes from the Gospel of Luke – the story of the Annunciation.

Here, we find a young woman, fully open to hear the Word of God through the angel Gabriel’s announcement. She had found favor with God, and would bear His Son. There is no experience that I can think of in my life that would have such a profound impact as that experienced by Mary. Did she understand all the implications of that announcement? Yes, I believe she did, and she even asked the angel how it could be. And, despite all possibility in the physical laws, she believed the word of the Angel, and consented to be a special instrument through which the Savior of the World came to dwell within her, and be born into the world.

The second comes from the Gospel of John – the scene of the Crucifixion.

At the foot of the cross stood the mother of Jesus, along with the Beloved Disciple. It is here, Mary’s pain must have been fierce, a sword of sorrow, pondering why God chose this plan for her Son. Overwhelmed in her grief; yet, I imagine her thinking of the words Jesus taught us to pray – “Thy Kingdom come; Thy Will be done.” She is the model for the Christian of faith in adversity.

From the Annunciation to the Cross, Mary’s words were, “Let it be done according to Your word! Thy Will be done!”

Let us take great consolation in this, as we turn and stand with Mary at the foot of the Cross in the hour of our own uncertainty, and with her pray with confidence to the Father who knows our needs before we ask, and yet takes delight in listening to our feeble prayers. He hears us, and answers us.

Please feel free to leave your prayer requests in the comments. I will remember them in my nightly Rosary, where with Mary, I offer the prayers of the hurts of the world, and with her pray to the Father, ‘Thy will be done!’

