Tags

, , , ,

Jesus CrucifiedThere is Jesus upon the Cross, “stripped of everything except His love”, as our Foundress, Saint Magdalene of Canossa would say. The dipiction of Christ is what compelled me to take my vows, wanting to follow in the footsteps of the Crucified One. This past Sunday we celebrated much more than Superbowl; in the Church we commemorated Jesus being presented in the Temple by Mary and Joseph, and their meeting of old Simeon and the prophetess Anna, and the astonishing things they said about the child. The Church shares this day with all men and women who have taken vows of consecration: chastity, poverty and obedience. It led me to reflect on my own consecration and a prayer:

In my consecration I gave all to Mary and I stand before Jesus stripped bare. No merits to show. No clothing to make me attractive. Nothing by which to hide my flaws. All is revealed. This applies too to my daily life. All the graces I experience are from God. All successes in my ministry is from God. Any signs of love I demonstrate is from God. I have nothing. All belongs to God and I entrust it to Mary. All I hope for, I pray, is God’s grace and that I may love with a heart like Mary’s Immaculate Heart.

UntitledFather,
You willed that Mary
be at the Foot of the Cross
sharing in the Sacrifice of Your Son.
Grant us, through her intercession,
to bear within ourselves
the image of Christ
Crucified and Risen,
and to spend ourselves
with untiring Charity
for the good of our brothers and sisters. Amen.

(Said every morning before Lauds by Canossian Sisters around the world).

