The Glory of the Lord

During the celebration of the Eucharist, I often wonder what angels see at the consecration of the Bread and Wine on the Altar. Today’s first reading (Ez 1:2-5, 24-28c) gives us an idea:

As I looked, a stormwind came from the North,
a huge cloud with flashing fire enveloped in brightness,
from the midst of which (the midst of the fire)
something gleamed like electrum.
"This is my Body. Do this in memory of Me"
Within it were figures resembling four living creatures
that looked like this: their form was human.

Then I heard the sound of their wings,
like the roaring of mighty waters,
like the voice of the Almighty.
When they moved, the sound of the tumult was like the din of an army.
And when they stood still, they lowered their wings.

Above the firmament over their heads
something like a throne could be seen,
looking like sapphire.

Upon it was seated, up above, one who had the appearance of a man.
Upward from what resembled his waist I saw what gleamed like electrum;
downward from what resembled his waist I saw what looked like fire;
he was surrounded with splendor.
Like the bow which appears in the clouds on a rainy day
was the splendor that surrounded him.
Such was the vision of the likeness of the glory of the LORD.

When we come before the Lord, let us put all distractions aside, and make an act of faith:

I believe that You are present in the Sacrament of the
Altar. I adore You from the abyss of my nothingness, and I
thank You for all the graces which You have bestowed upon me
and in particular for having given me Yourself in this Sacrament…

From a Prayer by Saint Alphonsus Liguori. This and other prayers are available here.


Leave a Reply

