Miserere Mei (My Wretched Self)

Reflecting on the penitential nature of Lent, I was struck today by this song sung by Andrea Bocelli and Zucchero. The words are worth reflecting as we enter into this penitential season (Translation below video):

Miserere, miserere
Miserere, misero me
Però brindo alla vita! 

Ma che mistero, è la mìa vita
Che mistero!
Sono un peccatore
dell’anno ottantamila
Un menzognero

Ma dove sono e cosa faccio
Come vivo?
Vivo nell’anima del mondo
Perso nel vivere profondo

Miserere, misero me
Però brindo alla vita

Io sono il santo che ti ha tradito
Quando eri solo
E vivo altrove e osservo il mondo
Dal cielo

E vedo il mare e le foreste
Vedo me che
Vivo nell’anima del mondo
Perso nel vivere profondo

Miserere, misero me
Però brindo alla vita

Se c’è una notte buia abbastanza
Da nascondermi, nascondermi
Se c’è una luce, una speranza
Sole magnifico che splendi
dentro me

Dammi la gioia di vivere
Che ancora non c’è

Miserere, miserere
Quella gioia di vivere
Che forse ancora non c’è

Miserere, miserere
Wretched, wretched me
But I toast life! 

What a mystery my life is
What a mystery!
I am a sinner
from the year eighty thousand
A liar!

But where I am and what I do
How do I live?
I live in the soul of the world
Lost in the depths of life

Wretched, wretched me
But I toast life

I am the saint who betrayed you
When you were alone
I live elsewhere and observe the world
From the sky

And I see the sea and the forests
I see myself that
Lives in the soul of the world
Lost in the depths of life

Wretched, wretched me
But I toast life

If there is a night dark enough
To hide me, to hide me,
If there is a light, a hope
A magnificent sun that shines
Inside of me

Give me the joy to life
That which is not yet there.

Miserere, miserere
That joy to live
That perhaps, is not yet there.

___

“Wretched, wretched me, but I toast life!”

Ah, this is the beauty of the Christian Life! To recognize our fault and shortcomings, and in the same breath, relish the life we’ve been given. And how much more should we ‘toast’ the new life given through the death of Jesus our Savior on the Cross?

Yes, we may be miserable sinners, but we are LOVED by God. It is this reality that leaves us with a hope of a life that will come, that it may one day be lived in full.

___

Related Posts:

Pope Benedict’s Lenten Message for 2011

A Lenten Attitude

Archbishop Chaput writes, “This Lent, accept God’s love, reflect it to others.”

40 Ways for these 40 Days (of Lent)


3 thoughts on “Miserere Mei (My Wretched Self)

  1. This is a fabulous song!!! And it really does remind everyone of the true meaning of Lent and then Easter….

Leave a Reply

